2022 champions honored at 27th AAP Annual Motorsport Awards


Hosted by the FIA’s national sporting authority, the Automobile Association Philippines (AAP) has now officially put a close the 2022 motorsport season as it recognizes the exemplary personalities of the past year. This is the 27th Annual Motorsport Awards where all the newly crowned champions (and everyone contributed to the sport) come to gather and celebrate another year in Philippine motorsports.

2022 saw the sport return to its full capacity since the pandemic, which proportionately grew the number of awards given out by the AAP. It was nice to welcome mainstay events like the National Slalom Series, Philippine Autocross Championship Series, and Philippine Rallycross Series back into the program. Meanwhile, the newcomers Radical Challenge Philippines and AAP E-Motorsports are good indicators that local motorsports is still growing.

What sticks out in this year’s list of awardees is the abundance of new and young talent, specifically the name of Iñigo Anton that appears on the list four times. Son of racing veteran Carlos Anton, the 18-year-old secured overall titles in the Toyota Gazoo Racing Vios Cup, Radical Challenge, and Philippine GT that also earned him the 2022 Driver of the Year Award for Circuit.

Miguel Quiñones also deserves a special mention for taking the Senior Class championships in both Rotax Max Challenge and Rok GP Cup, earning him the Driver of the Year Award for Karting two years in a row.

All-in-all the AAP gave out 46 accolades during the 27th AAP Annual Motorsport Awards. Here’s the complete list of ladies and gentlemen who received recognition.

2022 Driver of the Year Award
Slalom | Estefano Rivera
Karting | Al Miguel Quiñones
Circuit | Carlos Iñigo Anton
Rallycross | Peter Paul Santos
Drifting | Pocholo Hizon

Marshal of the Year | Moderno Roldan
Marshal of the Year – Slalom | Simeon Victoria

Toyota Gazoo Racing Vios Cup
Super Sporting Class Champion | Carlos Iñigo Anton
Sporting Class Champion | Royce Miguel Sarmiento
Promotional Class Champion | Emmanuel Jason Lao

Philippine Grand Touring Championship
GT200 Class Champion | Carlos Iñigo Anton
GT150 Class Champion | Ian Davin Rosales
GT100 Class Champion | Karol Collantes

Giti Formula V1 Challenge
Pro Class Champion | Milo Rivera
Am Class Champion | Michael Bryan Co

National Drifting Championship
Pro Division Overall Class Champion | Pocholo Hizon

National Slalom Series
Novice Class Champion | Paulino Polintan Jr
Rear Wheel Class Champion | Joseph Ortega
Front wheel Class Champion | Estefano Rivera
Overall Class Champion | Estefano Rivera

Philippine Autocross Championship Series
Novice Class Champion | Martina Sofia Muñoz
Open Class Champion | Richard Gallardo
Overall Class Champion | Richard Gallardo

AAP E-Motorsports
Asia-Pacific Dirt Rally 2.0 Overall Class Champion | Matthew Spencer Ang

Philippine Rallycross Series
Group 3 Overall Class Champion | Peter Paul Santos

Radical Challenge Philippines
SR1 Cup Overall Class Champion | Carlos Iñigo Anton

ROTAX Max Challenge Philippines
Junior Overall Class Champion | Bernardus Emmanuel Corpino
Senior Overall Class Champion | Al Miguel Quiñones

ROK GP National Karting Series
MiniROK Overall Class Champion | Mariano Axel Nocom
Junior Overall Class Champion | Bernardus Emmanuel Corpino
Senior Overall Class Champion | Al Miguel Quiñones

Plaque of Appreciation
William John Riley Go
Bianca Denise Bustamante
Miguel Diaz
Vincent Floirendo
Batangas Racing Circuit
Kart Plaza Manufacturing Corp
Race Motorsports Club
Philippine Autocross Championship Series
Philippine Rallycross Series
Tuason Racing School
Radical Cars Philippines
Backstage Events Inc
Aeromed Ambulance Services

Special Awards
AAP Hall of Fame | Juan “Johnny” Angeles
Posthumous Award | Danilo “Danny” Santiago