Formula V1 Challenge publishes entry list ahead of 2023 season


Now on its 5th season, the Formula V1 Challenge is ready for its return in 2023 that kicks off this weekend.

Organized by Tuason Racing, the single-seater championship still uses the same quick, but reliable VITA-01 chassis built by West Racing Cars of Japan. Time and time again the 110-hp Toyota Vios 1NZ-powered lightweight machinery has provided close wheel-to-wheel battles on track that has produced champions like Luis Gono, Daniel Miranda, and brothers Estefano and Milo Rivera.

A total of 13 drivers have confirmed their entry so far for the upcoming season, split between 5 entries in the PRO division and 8 in the AM class. Notable names in the PRO category include the likes of Iñigo Anton, who is the reigning TGR Vios Cup and Radical Cup Philippines Champion, and Joaquin ‘Wakkeen’ Garrido who was last year’s Formula V1 AM class champion. West Racing Cars is also fielding 2 drivers of their own, Kazuki Takemura and Masanori Aya.

2023 Formula V1 Challenge Race Calendar
Round 1 | June 9-10 (Clark International Speedway)
Round 2 | July 21-22 (Clark International Speedway)
Round 3 | November 24-25 (Clark International Speedway)

As in previous seasons, the 2023 calendar consists for 3 rounds with 3 races each, all hosted at the Clark International Speedway (CIS). The curtain raiser takes place this June 9/10 with the season ender happening on November 24/25.

The 2023 Formula V1 Challenge is a partnership between Tuason Racing and West Racing of Japan, supported by Motul, FASA, Toptul, and OMP. Alongside it are media partners, AutoDeal, Autocar Philippines, C! Magazine, Skramble, Time Attack Manila, Inquirer Mobility, the Philippine Daily Inquirer, and Wheels Philippines.