Formula V1 drivers to banner Philippine flag at Suzuka Clubman Race


Some of our best local Formula V1 drivers are at the Suzuka Circuit this weekend to see how they stack up against some of the best Japanese Vita-01 drivers at the 2023 Suzuka Clubman Race’s final leg. This consists of an all-start lineup with Milo Rivera, Bryan Co, Joaquin ‘Wakkeen’ Garrido, and Rainy Medina.

Milo Rivera, who was the 2022 Formula V1 PRO Class champion, shares his thoughts ahead of the event. “It’s always an immense honor and privilege to represent your country, and we will definitely promise to give our all. Although we will be racing to the checkered flag individually, our job is to also help and uplift each other throughout the way.”

Meanwhile, this will be Bryan Co’s first international event which was his prize for securing the 2022 AM Class title. Likewise, Joaquin ‘Wakkeen’ Garrido won the AM Class title a year prior to Bryan and is expected to do well in Japan. Wakkeen was forced to miss the 2023 season finale and concede the PRO Class championship to rival Iñigo Anton, but with good reason. He attended the penultimate round of the Formula 4 South East Asia that same weekend and secured a Top 10 finish at the Sepang International Circuit. Completing the Philippine lineup is newly-crowned Formula V1 AM Class champion Rainy Medina of AutoholicRaceform.

With an invite from West Racing Cars, all 4 drivers will drive the latest Vita-01 race cars (renamed as Formula V1 locally), complete with comprehensive race services provided by the Japanese manufacturer’s race team.

Official Practice begins on December 1 (Friday), with Qualifying on December 2 (Saturday) and the main Race on December 3 (Sunday).

The 2023 Formula V1 Challenge is supported by GT Radial, Motul Philippines, OMP, FASA, TOPTUL, and West Racing Cars; with official media partners: The Philippine Daily Inquirer, AutoDeal, C! Magazine, AutoCar Philippines, Skramble Media, Time Attack Manila, and Wheels Philippines.