Here are the 5 finalists of the AAP Motorsport Development Program 2018

AAP MSDP 2018 Finalists

AAP’s grassroots training course, the Motorsport Development Program (MSDP) continues to hone young students into becoming future racing champions after 3 fruitful years. And the latest group of finalists is composed 5 talented drivers from around the Philippines.

The batch of 2018 includes Carl Andre Perez, Jiulian “Tygr” Espino, Paul Raymond “Powee” Base, Mika “MJ” Baniqued, and Carlo Iñigo Anton.

Graduates of the MSDP, including the finalists, went through a 9-module program that covers the basics of driving technique, driving safety, vehicle dynamics, mental and physical fitness, and race car preparation. Guiding them through the course was 10-time National Rally Champion Vip Isada and his talented team of race instructors.

From all the candidates, the finalists were then handpicked not because of their outright speed, but because they have the attitude, mindset, and desire that mark potential future champions.

“This batch is the youngest we’ve had so far,” said Vip Isada, MSDP Program Manager and Chief Instructor. “All of them are coachable, have winning attitudes, and have a love and passion for motorsports. We believe they can be future motorsports champions, and for this year we will support and guide them to their best potential.”

The MSDP will continue to hone the talent of these young 5 drivers as part of their scholarship. They’ll undergo a strict physical fitness regimen, advanced motorsport training, and of course mentoring. As a bonus, the 5 gets free fuel and entry fee subsidy during AAP-sanctioned race events they participate in which includes the National Slalom Series, FlatOut Race Series (FORS), and Philippine Touring Car Championship (PTCC).

The success and legacy of the MSDP can be seen through its past finalists who continue to race and participate in local motorsport events. Once such example is the AAP x MSDP x BERMAZ team who participated in last year’s 8 Oras ng Pilipinas endurance race. Polo Bautista, Armand Marcaida, Carlos Marzo, Miguel Reyes, Andre Delos Santos, and Hazel Ramirez drove the #34 Mazda 2 SkyActiv race car to a 6th place finish in FM3.

This year, the MSDP will have a total of 27 events in Manila, Iloilo, Cebu, Dagupan, Cagayan De Oro, Tagum, Davao, and Bacolod. Future champion drivers aged 15 to 19 years old can sign up for free, while more senior participants can join for a minimal registration fee of P2,500.

Co-presented by Mazda Philippines, the AAP Motorsport Development Program (MSDP) is sponsored by Seaoil Philippines. It’s also supported by Bendix Brakes, Bluechem, NWB Wipers, TS Tuning, Walter Lights and Sounds, Aeromed Ambulance Transport, Dynamics Suspension, ROTA Wheels, Hazardboy Performance, FlatOut Race Series (FORS), Race Motorsports Club, Time Attack Manila, Speedlab, AutoPerformance Ph, Clark International Speedway, Batangas Racing Circuit, and Kart Plaza Manufacturing.

For more info, Like the AAP Motorsport Development Program page on Facebook or contact Ivan Isada at