Miguel Quiñones awarded AAP ‘Karting Driver of the Year’ for 2nd year in a row


Following a successful 2022 season, Miguel Quiñones has recently received a few more silverware to add to his growing collection of trophies. This time it’s from the FIA’s national sporting authority, the Automobile Association Philippines (AAP), who presented him three very special distinctions at the 27th Annual Motorsports Awards.

His first award is for winning the 2022 Rotax MAX Challenge Philippines. A dominant four wins out of six rounds earned him the Senior Class title, which also gave him an entry into the Rotax MAX Challenge World Finals at Portimao, Portugal at the end of the year.

Miguel then received another award for the Rok GP National Karting Series where he secured his second Senior Class title in 2022. The reat would allow him to fly to the Rok Cup Superfinal in Lonato, Italy. But more importantly, this would be the first time in the Philippines for any karter to win both the national Rotax and Rok championships on the same year (as far as we know).

All these achievements would then get Miguel a nod from the AAP Motorsports Committee. He would take home the prize as 2022 Driver of the Year for Karting, which is already a special award in itself. Miguel, on the other hand, would be one of the rare few to take home the prize two years in a row.

All-in-all the AAP gave out 46 accolades during the 27th AAP Annual Motorsport Awards to celebrate another year in Philippine motorsports.

Miguel Quiñones: “I want to thank AAP for another successful season. Without the careful coordination of all AAP members, race events wouldn’t have happened. Winning the Rok and Rotax Senior Class are already achievements in themselves, but I’m especially honored to be the first in the Philippines to win both in the same year I believe. Being a two-time AAP Karter of the Year is truly an honor as well, but none of these would’ve happened without the support of all those close to me.”

Miguel Quiñones is sponsored by RZQ The Aesthetic Surgery Clinic, RZQ Aesthetic Medicine Institude, Derma Medica, Wuerth Philippines, and Vanguard Guarantee Insurance Consultancy.

[Photos by AAP]