Loy, Cabrera, Mesina lead in points at TGR Vios Cup 2023 after Rd. 1


The 2023 season of the Toyota Gazoo Racing (TGR) Vios Cup got off to a good start last June 30/July 1 at the Clark International Speedway (CIS) with plenty of action taking place across all 3 categories. There were 7 different race winners in total over the 2-day event, showing just how close the competition is.

Here’s how the TGR Vios Cup’s driver standings stack up so far after Round 1

It’s still anyone’s game in the Super Sporting Class with 3 different drivers winning the 3 races. Last year’s vice champion, Gerald Loy of R Racing Team currently leads the standings with a race win and podium finish to his name. But it’s only a slim 3 point advantage over John Dizon of JD Motorsports – Ribbon Arc who was also his championship rival in 2022. Consistency is key for Red Diwa of JBT Racing x Toyota Isabela where a pair of podium finishes puts him 3rd in the points. But don’t discount class debutant Ian Rosales of Toyota Team Cebu. Although he was unlucky in the first 2 races, he scored a surprise win in Race 3 and could be a title contender in due time.

Russel Cabrera was the man to beat in Sporting Class, taking 2 wins for Toyota Team Cebu. He now leads by 11 points ahead of Maila Alivia of JBT Racing x Toyota Isabela. The lady driver was a consistent podium finisher all weekend, impressively scoring 2nd, 3rd, and another 3rd place. But all eyes are now on Bern Corpino of Toyota Balintawak – Obengers Racing. The 15-year-old karter won Race 3 on his touring car debut and currently sits 3rd.

Another entry from Toyota Team Cebu leads the way in the Promotional Class. Jarond Mesina was clearly the most successful driver all weekend with his 2 race wins and 1 podium. His closest rival is Alain Alonza of Toyota Gen San – Chooks-To-Go Racing is a long 20 points behind, while fellow Toyota Team Cebu x Edgesport teammate Paolo Ayo is in 3rd.

The next round of the 2023 TGR Vios Cup is still 2 months away, scheduled on the 7th/8th of September and will again be held at the Clark International Speedway (CIS).

[Photo by James Morales Jr]