Super Sprint Series draws 128 competitors to race against the clock in Rd. 2

Super Sprint

Coming from an already-successful inaugural event in August, the Super Sprint Series drew an even bigger field of competitors when it regrouped for Round 2 last October 6. On this occasion, a total of 128 entries showed up to set their fastest times around the Meycauayan Commercial Complex. Over 80% of these happen to be in the Beginner and Intermediate Categories, aligning perfectly with the series’ goal to be the gateway for aspiring drivers to get into motorsports.

Super Sprint Series

The entry-level Street Category is further subdivided based on engine displacement. Class 1 is for vehicles with engines 1,300cc and below, Class 2 for 1,301 to 1,600cc, and Class 3 for 1,601cc and above. Kyle Cruz walked away with the top spot in Street 1, Tristan Erickson Suante in Street 2, and Joubert Go for Street 3 all setting good times with their stock entries.

There’s a similar grouping in the Amateur Street Modified Category, except that minor modifications are allowed. Bernard Sy went on to win in ASM 1, while Ricardo Dy-Liacco bested both ASM 2 and ASM 3 with his silver Honda Civic EG. Now onto the bigger boys in the Intermediate Street Modified Category. Mickie Carbonell clocked a 59.731 sec run racing a Toyota Vios to take 1st place in ISM 1, which was even faster that Alexis Lavapie who took top honors in ISM 2 and Kevin Cruz in ISM 3.

Super Sprint Series

The more serious competitors then settled the score in the Super Street Class. Edward Gutierrez of Alpha Racing Technica championed in Amateur Super Street 1, Al Alvarado in Amateur Super Street 2, and Patrick Cabrera for Amateur Super Street 3. A step above were the boys in Intermediate Super Street with Edward Gutierrez once again pulling a surprise with his Hyundai EON in Intermediate Super Street 1. Lester Shih’s 59.415 sec best in a Toyota Yaris was enough to secure the win in Intermediate Super Street 2, but an even faster 57.730 sec run in his Subaru Impreza WRX STI also earned him 1st place in Intermediate Super Street 3.

As for the most experienced drivers in the Super Sprint Series, Kody Ng in the orange Toyota Yaris impressed by winning both Prepped A1 and Prepped B1 categories. Karol Collantes in a Honda Civic won in Prepped A2, while Jojie Benedicto took the win in Prepped A3. Michel Rivero did well to win both prizes in Prepped B2 and Prepped C2 and Ryan Ablang taking the trophies in Prepped B3 and Prepped C3.

Super Sprint Series

Once all the runs wrapped up during the day, Tristan Erickson Suante eventually came out with the Best Street Time of 1:00.815 secs. Ricardo Dy-Liacco had the Best Amateur Time of 59.963 secs and Lester Shih holding onto the Best Intermediate Time of 57.730 secs. But all in all, the Best Time of the Day and in the Prepped Category went to Ryan Ablang with his blistering 53.408 sec run.

The Super Sprint Series will return to the Meycauayan Commercial Sports Complex in Bulacan for the final round of 2019 on December 8. Entry fee is P800 per class, registration starts at 7:30 AM, and race begins at 9:00 AM.

The Super Sprint Series 2019 is sponsored by Toyota Manila Bay, PartsPro.Ph, DynoPro Philippines, Hazardboy Performance, Flat Out Race Series, Motul, Walter Sound and Stage Lighting, Runstop Ph, Fabrix Eco Filter, Aguila Auto Glass, Project Vector, Autoperformance Ph, Cleanshine Master, Pegasus Autolamp, Eight Decals, Smartfuels 2 Race, Edgesport, Brandaide, Red Bull, and Motul. Media partners include ABS-CBN Sports and Action, Motoring Today, Time Attack Manila, 9tro Alliance, C! Magazine, Carbon Media, 2nera, AeroMark, Otoculture, and Grupo Toyota.

For more info, follow Super Sprint on Facebook or contact 0917-8565455 or e-mail

Super Sprint Series Super Sprint Series Super Sprint Series Super Sprint Series