Super Sprint ushers in 78 racers at Rd. 1 as 2020 season gets underway

Super Sprint

Now on its 2nd season, the Super Sprint Series kicked off the new year with a bang as it staged the first of four rounds for 2020 last February 2. It welcomed a total of 78 competitors, most of whom were newbies, at the Meycauayan Commercial Complex who completed a record breaking 375 runs for the day.

The Street Class featured beginners who competed using their stock vehicles. Marky Young in his Toyota Vios was easily the quickest in Street 1, while Joubert Go in a Toyota Yaris went on to claim victories in both Street 2 and Street 3. His 1:06.137 run also earned him the best time amongst all Street Class runners.

Super Sprint

Street Modified, on the other hand, allows modifications such as air intake, headers, exhaust, coilovers, roll cage, and brakes, but must maintain a full interior and seats.

Earl Tabucol was a full second clear of his closest rival in Amateur Street Modified 1 (ASM1) to take the win, while John Leslie Tan in his Toyota Corolla AE101 scored 1st place in ASM2 by a slim 0.326 secs margin. Surprisingly, first-timer Iñigo Miguel Lim in a Honda Civic FD set the best time for Amateur Class drivers with his 1:05.099 to win ASM3.

Likewise, first-time competitor Joaquin Garrido won in Intermediate Street Modified 1 (ISM1). Alexis Khan Lavapie was quickest in ISM2, and Iñigo Miguel Lim again found himself on the top spot of the podium in ISM3 by setting a time that’s over eight seconds clear of the nearest competitor.

Super Sprint

Reserved for vehicles with engine upgrades as well as lightened hood and trunks, the Super Street Class had one of the biggest turnouts of the day. Earl Tabucol earned his second win in the Amateur Super Sprint 1. Ringo Gregg Abadacio in his Honda Civic EG Hatchback won by a very slim 0.087 secs in Amateur Super Sprint 2, while Iñigo Miguel Lim hauled his third victory of the event by setting the fastest run in Amateur Super Sprint 3.

Event photographer Mickie Carbonell of Carbon Media isn’t only great behind the lens, proving that he’s also talented behind the wheel by topping Intermediate Super Street 1 (ISS1) in his Toyota Vios. Angelo Cruz in his Honda Civic championed in ISS2 and Jojie Benedicto in ISS3.

Super Sprint

The quickest drivers of the day were in the Prepped Classes with no tire or mod restrictions. 17-year-old Kody Ng in the KW Suspensions-sponsored Toyota Yaris set a sub 1-minute run to win Prepped A1, Prepped B1, and Prepped C1. Jojie Benedicto again landed on the top spot of the podium in Prepped A2, and Karol Collantes edged out his competitors in Prepped A3 and Prepped D1.

Alfie Bince went on to claim victories in Prepped B2 and Prepped D2. Polo Bautista was quickest Prepped C2, while Ryan Ablang dominated Prepped B3, Prepped C3, and Pepped D3 and went on to set the Best Time of the Day of 57.478 secs.

Super Sprint

The Super Sprint Series will continue to provide a safe, fun, and accessible environment for would-be races at Round 2 on May 17.

The 2020 Super Sprint Series is presented by Toyota Manila Bay and Toyota Manila Bay Parts & Service. In cooperation with Project Vector, PartsPro, Fixstop Auto Service, brought to you by CleanShine Master, Walter Sound and Stage Lighting, Wika Residensiya, AutoPerformance Ph, DynoPro Philippines, Runstop PH, Fabrix Eco Filter PH, Pegasus Autolamp Philippines, Aguila Auto Glass, Hazardboy Performance Parts, SmartFuels2Race, BrandAide Inc., EdgeSport, and Prautotype Auto Restoration.

For more info, follow Super Sprint on Facebook or contact 0917-8565455 or e-mail

Super Sprint Super Sprint Super Sprint