Car Awards Group Inc. in search for the next Car and Truck of the Year Philippines


One does not simply find the best on 4 wheels by counting votes. To do that, you need to get all the new vehicles in the market today, have qualified motoring journalists test every single one, and pool together all the scores to see which one comes out on top. That’s what the Car Awards Group, Inc. (CAGI) has been doing since 2004 and they’re ready for another set of winners this year.

The search for the 2016 Car of the Year – Philippines (COTY-P) and Truck of the Year – Philippines (TOTY-P) begins today.

It’s open to all “new or significantly upgraded” vehicles that were launched in the country between October 2015 to November 2016. And by CAGI’s estimate, they’re expecting around 60 unique entries this year.

“This timeframe is set yearly, to ensure that only the latest vehicles are tested, and the buying public is able to make informed decisions when making their purchases,” said CAGI President Robby Consunji.

All these vehicles will take part in CAGI’s annual Test Fest that starts this October 25, 2016. They’ll be subjected to qualitative and quantitative tests staged in this year’s official venue Nuvali, Sta. Rosa. Qualitative testing measures consumer-oriented metrics such as build quality and ride comfort. Meanwhile, quantitative testing measures acceleration, braking, and handling performance via GPS-based VBOX Sport data loggers. It just so happens that CAGI has acquired 2 brand new units in time for this year’s test.

The scores and data will then be handled by international auditing firm KPMG who will tabulate, audit, and release the official results. All this is done in line with the group’s vision of keeping the Filipino consumer informed of the best vehicles in the market.

Past Car of the Year Philippines winners are the Honda Civic (2005), Mazda 6 (2006), Volvo C30 (2007), Subaru Impreza STI (2008), Subaru Legacy 2.5 Liter GT (2009), Chevrolet Cruze (2010-2011), Hyundai Elantra (2011-2012), Mitsubishi Mirage (2012-2013), Mazda 6 (2013-2014), MINI Cooper S (2014-2015), and Mazda 2 (2015).

Meanwhile, the Truck of the Year Philippines has been awarded to the Mazda BT50 (2012-2013), Ford Ranger Wildtrak (2013-2014 & 2014-2015), and Nissan Navara (2015).

The Car Awards Group, Inc.’s 2016 Car of the Year – Philippines is co-presented by Carmudi in partnership with KPMG. Sponsors include Ayala Land Premier, Nuvali, Metro Pacific Tollways Corporation, Motolite Batteries, El Cielito Hotel – Sta. Rosa, Manila International Auto Show, Worldbex International, Speedlab, and Bose.