AAP hosts digital 25th Annual Motorsport Awards amidst the pandemic

AAP Motorsport Awards

If it weren’t for this pandemic, the most distinguished people in local motorsport would have physically gathered for the 25th Annual Motorsport Awards. This is to celebrate the best drivers for the 2019 season before the world went into lockdown. But thanks to modern technology, the Automobile Association Philippines’ (AAP) still found a way to celebrate our racing heroes online with help from the Manila International Auto Show (MIAS).

The main accolades are still reserved for the Driver of the Year awardees, but oddly 4×4 Off-Road is not included in this year’s list. Other distinctions are for the National Slalom Series, National Karting Series, Asian Karting Open Championship (AKOC), and Philippine Grand Touring Car Championship.

Of course there are also special awards for those who clinched their respective titles in the MSDP National Gymkhana Series, First Step Racing Cup, Vios Racing Festival, Giti Formula V1 Championship, and National Drifting Championship. Recognition is then given to drivers who competed overseas as well as race marshals who excelled in their duties over the past year.

Sadly, we also lost important members of the community who were all given Posthumous Awards. The most notable of which was Reynaldo ‘Jun’ Espino Jr. that’s now part of the AAP Hall of Fame.

Watch the 25th AAP Annual Motorsport Awards held last 17th of December 2020 at MIASwired.com.

2019 Driver of the Year Awardees
Slalom | Estefano Rivera
Karting | Bianca Bustamante
Drag | Arvin Millet
Rallycross | Olson Louie Camacho

National Slalom Series
Overall Class Champion | Estefano Rivera
Rear Wheel Class Champion | Joseph Ortega
Front Wheel Class Champion | Estefano Rivera
Novice Class Champion | Rod Chang

National Karting Series
Senior Class Champion | Bianca Bustamante
Junior Class Champion | Al Miguel Quinones
Mini ROK Class Champion | Miguel Judd Angeles

Asian Karting Open Championship
Mini ROK Class Champion | William Go

Philippine Grand Touring Championship
GT100 Class Champion | Drew Manio
GT150 Class Champion | Justin Neri
GT200 Class Champion | Paolo Santos

Special Awards
AAP Hall of Fame | Reynaldo Espino Jr.
MSDP National Gymkhana Champion | Ian Rosales
First Step Racing Cup | Seven Aleman
2019 Vios Racing Festival Overall Champion | Red Diwa
Giti Formula V1 Championship Pro Class Champion | Estefano Rivera
National Drifting Championship Champion | Norman Agojo
Marshall of the Year | Danilo Antivo
Marshall of the Year – Slalom | Felipe Paniza Sr.
Posthumous Award | Angelito Dulce
Posthumous Award | Rene Mapua
Posthumous Award | Fred Marasigan
Posthumous Award | Emmanuel Cruz
Posthumous Award | Pastor Boy Saycon
Posthumous Award | Ramy Diez

Plaque of Appreciation
Asian Auto Gymkhana Championship | Mark Bernales
Asian Auto Gymkhana Championship | Hazel Ramirez
Asian Auto Gymkhana Championship | Estefano Rivera
Asian Auto Gymkhana Championship | Emilio Medarlo Rivera
Asian Auto Gymkhana Championship | Gabie Desales
Asian Auto Gymkhana Championship | Jevoy Moreno
Malaysia Speed Festival Racing Series | Dexter Rei Daquigan
TCR Asia Series | Daniel Miranda
Thailand Super Series TA2 Asia | Don Thomas Pastor
Thailand Super Series TA2 Asia | Gabrielle Dela Merced
Audi R8 LMS Cup | Vicente Floirendo
IAME Series Asia | William Go
FIA Academy Trophy | Zachary David
IAME European Series | Eduardo Coseteng Jr.
Lawrence Rally | Jong King
Formula 4 Southeast Asia | John Dizon