Team Cebu back in the 8 Oras ng Pilipinas with a new mission

Team Cebu

The 2018 motorsport season is not yet over for Team Cebu. After winning the overall team championship in the recent Toyota Vios Cup, these guys is set to settle an unfinished business this weekend. They’re entering 3 cars in the Petron x 8 Oras ng Pilipinas at the Clark International Speedway aiming to capture the FM-1, FM-2, and FM-3 victories.

Team Cebu’s main entry is the #3 Honda Civic EG. This exact same car finished 6th overall, 2nd in FM-1, and 1st in FM-2 during last year’s event. But in 2018, it wants to take the class win. Of its original 4 drivers, only Bobby Pangilinan was retained in the refreshed lineup. He will be joined by his fellow Toyota Team Cebu drivers Jette Calderon, Sean Velasco, and Oscar Suarez.

Meanwhile, the team’s 2 other entries will be Vios Cup Cars competing in both FM-2 and FM-3.

The #20 machine represents Team Cebu’s new upcoming talent, products of the AAP Motorsport Development Program (MSDP). Russel Cabrera is their youngest driver at only 15. He is then joined by Julian Neri, Markku Suarez, and Norris See who will share driving duties throughout the 8 hour race.

In contrast, the sister #21 machine features an international cast of seasoned drivers of Team Cebu. Brian Currie from Canada and Dutchman Willem Waltheer both trace their motorsport experience from the Vios Cup. Although he also had a brief stint in Toyota’s one-make-race, the most celebrated of the 3 is LMP2 and Le Mans 24 Hour driver Ate De Jong.

John Velasco, Team Cebu Team Manager: “The Philippine Endurance Challenge is like making love. You need not to be fast, but consistent in order to succeed. Want to win all FM classes so we’ve put our best drivers to push our limits. Our 3 cars need to set consistent lap times throughout the 8 hour enduro where we hope we end up in a good position.”

Team Cebu is sponsored by Toyota Mandaue South, MMF Glass & Aluminum Supply, Standard Insurance, and Gothong Express Cargo, with support from Jlo High Performance Motor Shop, Commonwealth Insurance Company, Q8 Hotel, Shaldan, Cebu Protrade Insdustrial Corp., Solane, Solid Construction (Cebu) Inc., Atlantic Hardware, Heart Hub, Roadstar, Suarez & Sons Inc., BPI Family Savings Bank, Bobhen, Super Shuttle Roro, Whakatopa Inc. Yavera Car Rentals, and AutoMagic. TTC cars are serviced by MR Auto Parts of Jun Cabrera.